As a Guest, you can use BreastCancerTrials.org (BCT) on a one-time basis; when you leave, we will no longer have access to your data. Members are BCT users who save their Health History to our secure servers. As a Member you can update your Health History, use SecureCONNECT and subscribe to our Trial Alert Service. BCT Members have complete control over what is contained in their Health History and with whom it can be shared. BCT will never share your personal health information with any individual or organization without your explicit permission. By personal health information, we mean any information that is protected by the U.S. Government Medical Privacy Rule (HIPAA). This includes your name, email address, mailing address, telephone number, and date of birth. Although BCT is not explicitly covered by HIPAA, we adhere to all of its guidelines.
To help us learn more about the individuals who are using our service, BCT creates summary reports by combining non-identifiable data - such as tumor type and tumor stage - from your record with that of other patients. Our summary reports are for BCT use only and will not be shared with any individual or organization.
BCT Members can delete their personal Health History from BCT at any time. If you choose to delete your information, you will be asked whether you would like to contribute your non-identifiable data to our summary reports. If you choose "Donate" your personal Health History will still be fully deleted. All that will remain in our system is your non-identifiable data.
We encourage all BCT users to contribute non-identifiable data to our summary reports, but participation is voluntary.